IN PURSUIT OF JUSTICE, EVERY DAYRetired Judge Vickers Cunningham CONTACT US FOR A FREE CONSULTATION
The State of Texas and the Federal government takes these crimes seriously and work hard to prosecute them. Retired Judge Vic Cunningham understands these processes as District Judge for 27 years and former prosecutor he will work to prevent a conviction. Retired Judge Vic Cunningham presided over 750 jury trials. He’s an expert in understanding the mechanics of these types of crimes.
From shoplifting to armed robbery to embezzlement, theft crimes encompass a wide range of state and federal offenses. The consequences of a conviction may include fines and incarceration, and a host of other penalties. With the prevalence of physical evidence in these cases, via paper trails, video surveillance, or even cell phone photos or records, it may seem that a number of defendants face unbeatable odds. If you are arrested or charged, call Retired Judge Vic Cunningham today for a free consultation at 972-243-8688.
Types of Theft Crimes
Texas Penal Code, Title 7, Chapter 31 (Penal Code, Title 7, Chapter 31 — scroll down for sections dealing with theft)
Lack of intent
A mistake of fact (For example, the property was thought to have been stolen, but in fact, it was not.)
Age (Although being a minor is not a complete defense, it may serve to lessen the penalty.)
NOTE: Entrapment is not a defense. Although a police officer or peace officer was solicited with an opportunity to commit the crime, or a facility was given that created an opportunity to commit the offense, this is not a defense to theft.
See Theft Defenses for more information.
Under Texas theft/larceny law, offenders may receive charges varying from a “Class C” misdemeanor for the most minor of thefts, all the way up to a first-degree felony for the most serious.
The following guidelines are generally set for varying degrees of theft based on the amount or value of the property taken:
“Class C” misdemeanor: $50 or less
“Class B” misdemeanor: $50 or more, but less than $500
“Class A” misdemeanor: $500 or more, but less than $1,500
State jail felony: $1,500 or more, but less than $20,000
Third-degree felony: $20,000 or more, but less than $100,000
Second-degree felony: $100,000 or more, but less than $200,000
First-degree felony: $200,000 or more
Note: Based on the amount or value of property stolen, the penalty will go up. Penalties may range anywhere from a fine of no more than $500 (for a “Class C” misdemeanor), up to 5 to 99 years in prison and/or a fine of no more than $10,000 for a first-degree felony.
If you arrested or charged, call Retired Judge Vic Cunningham today for a free consultation at 972-243-8688.